NMSU branding
New Mexico State University - All About Discovery
New Mexico State University

 

NMSU ACES Weclome Home, Aggies Street Festival - September 2017

WSM students participated in the NMSU ACES street festival to help welcome students back to campus for fall semester.

WSM students are encouraged to present posters at conferences

Yining Bai, a WSM PhD student, presented her research during the poster session at the 62nd Annual New Mexico Water Conference in Socorro, New Mexico on August 16, 2017.

WSM faculty and students

Dr. Frank Ward standing with two WSM PhD students at the fall 2017 semester kickoff event

Fall 2017 semester kickoff event

WSM students and faculty came together to kick off the fall 2017 semester.

Water Science & Management Graduate Program and NM Water Resources Research Institute Retreat

The WSM Program and NM WRRI held a retreat in Mescalero, NM on April 2016. The groups discussed organizational goals, assessment of research and programs, and worked to build camaraderie.

Fall 2016 Meet & Greet Mixer

The Water Science & Management Program held its annual Fall "Meet & Greet Mixer" at the Stan Fulton Center's 3rd Floor Bistro. The event welcomed students and facutly back to campus, and introduced new students to the program.

The NMSU Watershed Group and the Water Science & Management Graduate Student Organization

Members of the Watershed Management Group and the Water Science & Management Graduate Student Organization held one of its fall 2016 semester meetings at Knox Hall in the College of ACES.

NMSU Water Science & Management Students

WSM students attended the annual graduation reception and program spring meeting at the Corbett Center Student Union on April 28, 2016.

NMSU A.C.E.S. FFA Fest & BBQ

WSM students attended the FFA BBQ Fest on April 8, 2016 to assist with outreach and games for hundreds of prospective NMSU students. The event was sponsored by the NMSU College of Agricultural, Consumer & Environmental Sciences.

Stucky Hall - Home to the Water Science & Management Graduate Program

The WSM program is housed in Stucky Hall. Stucky Hall is also home to the New Mexico Water Resources Research Institute (NM WRRI).

Ag day at NMSU

WSM students volunteered at NMSU's Ag day.

2015 WaterSmart Innovations Conference in Las Vegas, NV

Water Science & Management PhD graduate, Dina Salman (Iraq), presented a poster on her research on food security in Afghanistan.

2015 Agriculture Day at New Mexico State University

WSM students participated in Agriculture Day sponsored by the NMDA and NMSU. The WSM Graduate Student Organization represented their research, handed out candy, and hung out with Pistol Pete.

Organ Mountains

The Organ Mountains lend their unique type of beauty to the Las Cruces area.

WSM Affiliated Faculty and Researchers

All "646" phone numbers require a (575) area code

Faculty

Department

Field of Study

Email

Phone

Sangamesh V. Angadi

Plant and Environmental Sciences

Water Efficient Crops

angadis@nmsu.edu

646-3405

Steven Archambault

Ag Economics and Ag Business

Resource and Development Economics

sarchamb@nmsu.edu

646-5737

A. Salim Bawazir

Civil and Geological Engineering

Evapotranspiration/Irrigation and drainage

abawazir@nmsu.edu

646-6044

Max P. Bleiweiss

Entomology Plant Path and Weed Science

Remote sensing

maxb@nmsu.edu

646-1367

Wiebke Boeing

Fish, Wildlife and Conservation Ecology

Aquatic ecology

wboeing@nmsu.edu

646-1707

Kenneth Boykin

Fish, Wildlife and Conservation Ecology

River Riparian areas, Fish, Wildlife, and Conservation Ecology

kboykin@nmsu.edu

646-6303

Christopher Brown

Geography

GIS applications and binational water research

brownchr@nmsu.edu

646-1892

Susan Brown

Institute For Excel In Math & Science Ed

 

susanbro@nmsu.edu

646-1397

Colleen A. Caldwell

Fishery and Wildlife Science

Aquatic contaminants and toxicology

ccaldwel@nmsu.edu

646-8126

Kenneth “KC” Carroll

Plant and Environmental Sciences

Hydrology, hydrogeology, water resources, environmental science, soil science, geochemistry, and environmental engineering

kccarr@nmsu.edu

646-5929

David E. Cowley

Fishery and Wildlife Science

Aquatic ecology

dcowley@nmsu.edu

646-1346

Doug Cram

Extension Animal Resources

Forest and Fire Management

dcram@nmsu.edu

646-8130

Michael N. DeMers

Geography

Geographic Information Science and Technology, Landscape Ecology

mdemers@nmsu.edu

496-5231

Shuguang Deng

Chemical Engineering

Water treatment technology

sdeng@nmsu.edu

646-4346

Cara Meghan Downes

Economics, Applied Statistics & International Business

Economics, sustainability

cdownes@nmsu.edu

646-6021

David W. DuBois

Plant and Environmental Sciences

Climatology

dwdubois@nmsu.edu

646-2974

Daniel P. Dugas

Geography

Geomorphology

ddugas@nmsu.edu

646-1045

Ahmed Elaksher

Engineering Technology and Surveying Engineering

Water surveying and hydrography

elaksher@nmsu.edu

646-6107

Richard Arnold

Ag Science Center at Farmington

Revegetation with produced water

riarnold@nmsu.edu

(505) 960-7757

A.G. “Sam” Fernald

Animal and Range Sciences

Water quality hydrology

afernald@nmsu.edu

646-1041

Reza Foudazi

Chemical and Materials Engineering

Water and wastewater purification

rfoudazi@nmsu.edu

646-3691

Abbas Ghassemi

Waste Mgmt Ed and Res Consortium

Energy and water management

aghassem@nmsu.edu

646-2357

R. Edmund Gomez

Extension Economics

Small farm irrigation outreach

Gr@nmsu.edu

(505) 852-2668

Aravamudan Gopalan

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Water remediation

agopalan@nmsu.edu

646-2589

Ryan M. Goss

Plant and Environmental Sciences

Irrigation of Urban Landscapes and Turfgrasses

ryangoss@nmsu.edu

646-2397

William R. Gould

Economics and International Business

Statistical analysis

wgould@nmsu.edu

646-3986

Steven J. Guldan

Ag Science Ctr at Alcalde

Acequia irrigation systems

sguldan@nmsu.edu

(505) 852-4241

Jeffrey Herrick

Wooton Hall

Land evaluation and monitoring

jherrick@nmsu.edu

646-5194

Brian H. Hurd

Ag Economics and Ag Business

Economics and policy

Bhurd@nmsu.edu

646-2674

Michael D. Johnson

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Environmental applications of ferrate ion, FeO42-; arsenic, selenium and antimony remediation from ground water

johnson@nmsu.edu

646-3627

J. Philip King

Civil and Geological Engineering

Surface water hydrology

jpking@nmsu.edu

646-5377

Antonio S. Lara

Chemistry and biochemistry

Water quality and arsenic removal

alara@nmsu.edu

646-2918

Bernd Leinauer

Extensn Plant Sciences

Irrigation water conservation, irrigation of turfgrass with saline and potable water

leinauer@nmsu.edu

646-2546

Hongmei Luo

Chemical Engineering

Related water science research, Pholocatalyst for water splitting and removal of emerging contaminants

hluo@nmsu.edu

646-4204

Julie Maitland

NMDA Ag Pgms and Resources Div

Water policy and law

jmaitlan@nmsu.edu

646-2642

Martha C. Mitchell

Engineering Research Center

Water quality and arsenic removal

martmitc@nmsu.edu

646-3422

 

 

 

 

 

H. Curtis Monger

Plant and Environmental Sciences

Water/wastewater treatment and reuse

cmonger@nmsu.edu

646-1910

Mick O'Neill

Ag Science Center at Farmington

Micro irrigation and water management

moneill@nmsu.edu

(505) 960-7757

Lambis Papelis

Civil and Geological Engineering

Aquatic Chemistry

lpapelis@nmsu.edu

646-3801

Jim T. Peach

Economics and International Business

Demographics and water demand

jpeach@nmsu.edu

646-3113

Geno A. Picchioni

Plant and Environmental Sciences

Plant physiology and water stress

gpicchio@nmsu.edu

646-1820

Richard C. Pratt

Plant and Environmental Sciences

Cropping Systems Research and Plant Breeding

ricpratt@nmsu.edu

646-3406

Albert Rango

Jornada Exper Range Headquarters

Snow hydrology, climate change, and remote sensing

alrango@nmsu.edu

646-2120

David A. Rockstraw

Chemical Engineering

Water treatment technology

drockstr@nmsu.edu

646-7705

Carlos Rosencrans

Agricultural and Extension Education (AXED)

Windmills, Agricultural mechanics

crosencr@nmsu.edu

646-4511

Rossana Sallenave

Extension Animal Resources & Natural Resources

Aquatic Ecology

rsallena@nmsu.edu

646-6093

Zohrab A. Samani

Civil and Geological Engineering

Water resource development

zsamani@nmsu.edu

646-2904

Tanner Schaub

Bio Security And Food Safety Center

Water chemical analysis

tschaub@nmsu.edu

646-7582

Gerald “Jerry” Sims

Entomology Plant Pathology and Weed Science

Environmental microbiology

gksims@nmsu.edu

646-3225

Manoj K. Shukla

Plant and Environmental Sciences

Water and Solute Transport in Soils

shuklamk@nmsu.edu

646-2324

Sergei N. Smirnov

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Nanofluidics, nanoporous membranes, biosensors, drug delivery, photoinduced charge transfer, scanning probe microscopy

snsm@nmsu.edu

646-1547

Geoffrey B. Smith

Biology

Environmental microbiology

gsmith@nmsu.edu

646-6080

Robert G. Smits

Mathematical Sciences

Stochastic transport of chemicals and biological mechanisms in porous media

rsmits@nmsu.edu

646-2884

Rolston St. Hilaire

Plant and Environmental Sciences

Environmental stress physiology

rsthilai@nmsu.edu

646-3638

Daniel Smeal

Ag Science Center at Farmington

Consumptive-use of agricultural and horticultural crops

dsmeal@nmsu.edu

(505) 960-7757

Caiti M. Steele

Jornada Exper Range Headquarters

Remote Sensing, Snow Hydrology, Agriculture & Climate Change

caiti@nmsu.edu

646-4144

Kenny Stevens

Engineering Technology

Solar water distillation and groundwater hydrology

kstevens@nmsu.edu

646-2491

Blair L. Stringam

Plant and Environmental Sciences

Irrigation, Open Channel Flow Measurement, Sensor Applications

blairs@nmsu.edu

646-7665

Patrick Torres

Northern District Supervisory Unit

Small farm irrigation education and water conservation

patorres@nmsu.edu

(505)983-4615

April L. Ulery

Plant and Environmental Sciences

Environmental Soil Chemistry

aulery@nmsu.edu

646-2219

Jacob Urquidi

Physics

Physics of molecular liquids (water in particular) and amorphous materials

jurquidi@nmsu.edu

646-5199

Tony Valdez

Taos County Extension Office

Taos County Extension and Youth River Program and Small Farm Water Use

tonvalde@nmsu.edu

758-3982

Erin Ward

Water Resources Research Institute

U.S.-Mexico Border environmental policy

erinward@nmsu.edu

646-7154

Frank A. Ward

Ag Economics and Ag Business

Economics and policy

fward@nmsu.edu

646-1220

Cindy Watkins

Reference and Research Services

Agriculture and life sciences librarian

cwatkins@lib.nmsu.edu

646-7484

Nicolas Webb

Jornada Exper Range Headquarters

Rangeland management, Land degradation processes and climate-management interactions, Spatiotemporal patterns and drivers of wind and water erosion, Climate change impacts and adaptation in socio-ecological systems

nwebb@nmsu.edu

646-3584

Benjamin Widner

Economics and International Business

Urban and regional economics

bwidner@nmsu.edu

646-5989

Pei Xu

Civil Engineering

Water and wastewater engineering; membrane processes; desalination; potable and non-potable water reuse; produced water treatment; advanced oxidation and disinfection; biological and bioelectrochemical processes; removal of emerging contaminants; membrane fouling

pxu@nmsu.edu

646-5870